Texas Car Insurance Requirements
Texas, like other states in the country, requires drivers to have car insurance. In order to comply with the law, you must meet some minimums. The minimums are $60,000 of insurance for injuries per accident and $25,000 for property damage. If you don’t want to buy car insurance, there are a few other ways to prove financial responsibility. You can make a cash or securities deposit with the state comptroller. You must show proof of insurance if asked or if you get into a car accident, and if you fail to show proof of insurance, you could face penalties.
Texas is an at-fault state, which means that one of the drivers in an accident will be found at fault and have to pay for the damages that are caused.
Other Car Insurance Options
Just the minimums in the state won’t include costs for your injuries or personal property damage. Car insurance can help protect you against financial ruin, but only if you have enough coverage. Collision coverage will pay for damages that are due to an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages to your car that are not related to an accident and can cover things such as vandalism, theft, or weather events. Uninsured/underinsured driver coverage will cover you if you have damages that are caused by uninsured and underinsured drivers. Towing and labor will protect you if you need to tow your car in the event of a breakdown and will cover any necessary repairs. An agent at Davis Insurance Group can help you find the right policies to protect your vehicle. Be sure to ask about any available discounts you could receive. You may be able to get a discount for taking a drug and alcohol awareness course.
Texas has options for those who can’t find insurance and have been turned down by two different insurance companies.
Contact Davis Insurance Group to get a quote on auto insurance.